Import a Photo into Lightroom

When you open Lightroom, you’ll notice a box at the bottom-left that says “Import…”

Click on it, and you will enter what will be known as the Import Dialogue. (Alternatively, the particular Import Dialogue may open automatically whenever you enter Lightroom or put the memory card in your computer, based after your Lightroom > Preferences settings at the top of the particular screen).

Typically the Import Dialogue is where you choose which images to add to your Lightroom catalog to organize in addition to edit them. You will probably end up opening the Import Dialogue a lot whenever of which you’ve returned from a photoshoot and you’re loading photos onto your personal computer.

Import a Photo into Lightroom

In the Import Dialogue, there are several options available. I will cover the many important below:-


Left Hand Side

The best part of typically the Import Dialogue is usually the tab on the left-hand side. This is where you choose which photos you want to open in Lightroom, simply by clicking on the folder (or memory card) where they currently reside.

There are not too very much to say here, apart from that you could observe something interesting:- It may be not simply your memory card that shows up here. If youre trying to import a image into Lightroom that’s currently on your Desktop, or perhaps in your Downloads file, or somewhere else, you can carry out so without a problem.

Import a Photo into Lightroom

Top Options

The top of Import Dialogue gives you a few even more options. Specifically, right now there are four different ways to import your photos directly into Lightroom’s catalog:- “Copy as DNG, ” “Copy, ” “Move, ” and “Add. ” Each one is there for reason, dependant on what you need Lightroom to do with your photos.

Import a Photo into Lightroom

Add is great if you don’t want to move the actual file on your computer to a new location; you simply want the photo to demonstrate up when you open Lightroom. This is usually ideal when you have a photograph that’s already in the correct place on your current computer’s hard drive.

Move is best if you’re trying to add one of your photos to your Lightroom catalog, but it’s not in the right place on your computer. So , if one of your photos is on your Desktop, but you want it to appear under Photos > 2017 > April, you can move the photo to the proper location, while simultaneously telling Lightroom to add it to your catalog.

Copy is best in case the photo you want to add to your catalog isn’t in the particular right location however, you still do not wish to delete this from its current location yet; instead, you just want in order to duplicate it someplace else. This appears odd, but it is actually quite helpful. When I’m loading photos from somebody else’s flash drive, I don’t wish to move the pictures from their flash drive onto the computer (since that would effectively remove them from their original location). Instead, We simply want in order to create a duplicate of the photos plus put it within the right spot on my computer. Eventually, the duplicated file is the one that Lightroom adds to your catalog.

Copy as DNG is one that you are usually not as likely to be able to utilize. This option will probably be what took place whenever the Lightroom developers realized that inside case you’re copying the photo from 1 location to another, the new duplicate can actually be different file type when compared with original if there are the benefit to doing so. “Copy as DNG” does 100% exactly similar as “Copy, ” except of which the particular new, duplicate picture in the proper location can be saved as typically the DNG file rather than a JPEG, TIFF, CRW, NEF, or perhaps whatever it was originally.

Personally, when I’m loading photos from a memory card onto my computer, I prefer to copy the photos rather than move them. That way, I maintain two versions of each photo:- one on my memory card, and one at the new spot on my computer. This is nice just in case my computer’s hard drive breaks before the new photos are backed up. (“Add” isn’t really a practical option here, due to the fact, when I ultimately take away the memory cards from my pc, the photos will not appear in my catalog any longer!).


Right Hand Side

There are countless options along typically the right-hand side of the import dialogue. It can seem to be overwhelming if you have never used Lightroom before.

Yet , the main goal of the right hand bar is just to tell Lightroom where to put the photos that you’re moving, copying, or copying as DNGs. (It doesn’t appear if you’re adding photos, since Lightroom assumes that they’re already in the right place.)

Import a Photo into Lightroom

Beyond that, the rest of the options are up to you. You can choose to rename the files you’re adding, which could be helpful for organization purposes. You can apply set of “develop settings” to photos you add say, applying pre-chosen amount of sharpening and noise reduction to each photo or “metadata” setting, such as filling in the copyright section of each photo you open. You can choose to create second copy of every photo you import so that you have backup (though this may be overkill if you already have a constant backup to an external hard drive or the cloud).

You will find yourself personalizing this section significantly over time.

For the time being, once you’ve chosen the right location folder, you’re great. Every one of these types of settings is reversible at any point in the future.


Bar at Bottom

The very last bit of typically the import dialogue is usually the bar along the bottom. The main option here is usually the “Import Preset” section. This is just what enables you save each of the settings you chose typically the copy/move/add settings, typically the destination folder, typically the options on the right hand sidebar and use the very same ones at several point in typically the future.

In addition to that, once you’ve selected all the pictures you would like to add in order to your catalog, you are done! Click the particular “Import” button in the bottom-right of your screen, plus you’re ready to organize and edit the photos you’ve just added.